Tag Archives: books

BOOK TOUR

Happy Saturday, peeps!

My book tour has been officially…booked! Wha pow! Below is the schedule. If you would like a chance to win signed copies, eBooks, some swag and more, hit these sites up and enter. These hosts have agreed to do a review only tour which means that they will have a review of Blood Soaked Ashes up the day they host. So, not only will you be able to enter, but you also get the chance to see what others think about the book! Yay!

BSA_Banner[6]

Tour Schedule

WEEK ONE
March 2nd: CiCi’s Theories REVIEW + TENS LIST
March 3rd: TTC Books and More REVIEW + MUSIC PLAYLIST
March 4th: Geek Heaven REVIEW
March 5th: Sunrise Avenue REVIEW
March 6th: LuLo Fangirl REVIEW

WEEK TWO
March 9th: Such A Novel Idea REVIEW
March 10th: Winterhaven Books REVIEW + WHAT’S IN FRANKIE’S BAG?
March 11th: Imagine A World REVIEW
March 12th: Petrichor REVIEW
March 13th: Her Book Thoughts REVIEW + INSPIRATION BOARD

BLOOD SOAKED ASHES BOOK TOUR SIGNS UPS

 

BSA_Banner[6]

Since BLOOD SOAKED ASHES is available for all to smack their eye holes against, I must pimp it while the pimping is good. BSA will be on tour in March with a two-week stretch to offer lots o’ flexibility for blogger that would love to participate. The first segment is March 2-6 and then again on  9-13! It is a review only tour (because reviews help authors!) and the giveaway is BuhDam! So, if you’d like, you can click this link to sign up, or you can click that cute little widget button over on the left that says “me & my shelf.” Or something or other. I only put it there because my tour organizer’s site said “Grab this!” so I did, because that sounded like an order.  Plus I’ve never grabbed something (without getting into trouble) so it made me feel techno savvy. Not in that  lazor-light, twirl an object (real or pretend) in your hand kind of way, (not that techno isn’t inspirational if you’re, let’s say…well let’s just say and leave it at that.) Just savvy in the way that…(choose your adventure here.)

So sign up, or remember to enter the giveaway, or share this post, or like it, or comment on my savvy grabbing buttons skillz. Cheeze!

 

Blood Soaked Ashes Cover Reveal

This post is a few days behind. Let me explain why.

One the morning of the cover reveal for Blood Soaked Ashes (which was Halloween BTW!) I awoke to the strangest of sounds. A thudding noise from the other side of my bedroom wall stirred me from my dreams of lollipop fields and orange juice sunshine. I sat up and listened more closely.

WTF is that? I asked myself, because I was alone, and because my cats can only talk on Tuesdays.

I threw on my housecoat and slid on my slippers and cautiously opened my front door (unfortunately for me the side of my bedroom wall I heard the noises was outside!), so outside I went.

I walked around to the side of my house where my bedroom was and to my astonishment…the vinyl siding was flapping in the wind! So I popped it back into to place and went back to bed.

The End.

I understand that  this story does not explain anything…but I’ve been chillin’ with a toddler since Thursday which has reminded me that explanations needn’t make sense at all.

So here it is…BLOOD SOAKED ASHES!!!!

IceyDesigns
IceyDesigns

Jon Snow Read This, Now He Knows One Thing.

instalogo

Here it is!! The title for book two of The Eramane Saga!

Blood Soaked Ashes was so much fun writing, and I can’t wait for you guys to read it. Dur.

This image has zero squats to do with the actual cover that was designed by Hafsah from IceyDesigns. That will be revealed on Halloween and yes! there will be a giveaway with awesomes and such.

Okay, if you are finished laughing at my very visually anticlimactic title reveal, (cause the title is bad-ass) you may proceed on with it (IT being whatever IT was that you were doing before I snatched you from…

Wait for it…

IT!

Pahahahaha!

Keep Calm and Karate Chop Cobwebs

Courtesy of gardek.deviantart.com
Courtesy of gardek.deviantart.com

Toiling away I have been. (Yoda talk is weird when you see it typed out.) Writing more than on WIP is tough, chaotic, tiresome, you know. But the Force is strong in this one (ME!) and it is a must that I work in this way. I don’t know about you guys but having all sorts of ideas sitting upstairs for too long is no fun. I’d rather be cursing at myself during the hours most people sleep than to have stories just waiting around making cobwebs in my skully region.
But we is all different.
Book two (the last book) to the Eramane saga will be heading to my editor soon and its release will be a catharsis for me. I’ve been working on this story for a long time and I’m ready for my fans to know what happens to her and her comrades. So excited!
The title reveal is fast approaching (Oct 13) and the cover reveal will come shortly after. It’s still in its design phase. I have all my focus on getting this book out in time for Black Friday, so that I can get my YA Sci-Fi project out in January 2015 and hopefully get a combined edition of both Eramane books available in February.
Well, the rain just stopped, so I have to go walk my dog.

The Fires of Calderon, book one in the Balance Keepers series by Lindsay Cummings

courtesy of lindsaycummingsbooks.com
courtesy of lindsaycummingsbooks.com

It’s book pub day for the awesome Lindsay Cummings. To help spread the word, I’m hosting her newest title, The Fires of Calderon.

The Fires of Calderon is Book One in Lindsay Cummings’s epic Balance Keepers series. These exciting fantasy adventure books are full of magic, mystery, friendship, and humor and are perfect for fans of books like Brandon Mull’sThe Candy Shop War or the Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann.

Bestselling author of the Skeleton Creek series Patrick Carman describes The Fires of Calderon as “fast paced and packed with adventure,” and Peter Lerangis, bestselling author of the Seven Wonders series, says, “Wow!”

With themes of friendship, self-discovery, and courage; both boy and girl main characters; fierce creatures to battle; a mystery to solve; and a boarding school that could be described as Hogwarts underground, there’s something for every reader to enjoy in this contemporary—and fantastically imaginative—spin on the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth.

When eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.

September 23, 2014 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins

 

Some start up advice, no it doesn’t involve a crank.

seo

Hi and such!
In my last post I said that I’d write a little ditty about some blog design tips (WordPress only). If you have a different host I don’t know what to tell you…come to WordPress, we have cookies. I mean I don’t but someone somewhere does.
I digress.
When I started my site/blog a year and a half ago, I had zero knowledge of how to get one up and running and even less know how on designing it to look as if I’d paid a techy pants to do it. Now I’m not saying that my site rivals those that excel in the site design industry (cause that would be crazy) but as sites go, mine ain’t too shabby.
I chose WP because, well another author used it and I totally dug their site. I did a little research and learned that WP was user friendly, meaning that I wouldn’t have to learn lots o’ HTML code to get snazzy features such as…name some.
But I chose I very basic set up and used the cover of my book as the background, and that was fine at first. But after a few months, I began to hear the “ughs” from internet visitors on my site. Since launching my site, I’ve viewed thousands of other author sites, some worse than mine, many better. And that just wasn’t cutting it for me. So I took some time and Goggled SEO plug-ins and how to install them on my site. That’s when I learned that WordPress does most of the coding crap for us! WOW!
Phew, glad that’s out of the way.
But I still didn’t like that my site was just a giant cover of my book, self promotion is great and all, but I even got tired of looking at it. I wanted people to see my brand, not just that book I wrote. When you go to a website, you don’t want one thing shoved down your eyeholes (at least I don’t) so I worked with a lovely chic at IceyDesigns who created my brand logo, that awesome Frankie Ash Author of Sci-Fi and Fantasy pic to your right! Yeah it’s bad-ass!
So, I looked back at some WordPress themes, tried a few out and found one that I love. I still had to snatch some HTML code for the social media buttons but I learned how to do that from WP too!
WordPress has tons of awesome content and customization features and that’s why I love it here. Of course there is tons more about site design and how WP can help you achieve a great design that suits your needs, but you have to invest the time in researching and reading and learning and reading and learning…or you could just pay someone to do it.